The session has begun!

Large group class this morning

Our TIP session 40 started this Sunday with the students’ arrival. Later that afternoon we had interviews, which basically consisted of us talking with the students, and then making a somewhat biased and arbitrary placement of them according to their level of oral English.  Luckily it will all work out fine, as if someone is place too low, we shall put them in a class leadership position.  And if someone is placed too low, everyone else in the class can be their buddy and help teach them English.

Or at least, that’s what we hope will happen.

Anyways, the lovely Alicia Kincheloe and I have class G, which is a medium high class.  I think it will be a lot of fun.  I’m starting to get to know the students, but it is hard to remember all of their names.  (Who is “Lucy?” – I don’t know she has dark hair and dark eyes… -Oh that helps a lot, is she Asian?) But as everyone has nametags, we’ll muddle through.

Class G's door

Today was my first day teaching alone.  It was a bit nervous-making, but things didn’t crash and burn, so that’s good. I’m taking note of things that went well, and things that didn’t go well, so next class period, and next session, I will be better.  By the time July rolls around, I should be pretty decent at facilitating TIP style.  I don’t know if that will translate at all to anything I do in the future, but I certainly hope it will.

Speaking of the future, I finally turned in the last of my Peace Corps forms, now that I have an idea of what I’ll be doing this year.  My recruiter emailed me this past Friday to tell me that “Our programs will be opening up next week” and that she’ll “be in touch as soon as a nomination is made.”

So that’s exciting. I’ll keep you posted.

One response »

  1. Kate Berry says:

    Love your blog! I wish I was there.

Leave a Reply

