Happy New Years from China!

Celebrations were mild here.  I did henna tattoos on myself and the ladies in our pack of four, with 2011 figuring prominently in each design, although I kept getting zero happy and almost put 2001 on some people. Emily, Michelle and I went out on the town but ended up being disappointed by the lack of French boys, or the general lack of us making new friends. So we got in a taxi and came home.  We bought eight bottles of Tsingtao at the local Muslim restaurant (they looked at us crazy as there were only three of us there at the moment. And we were a little overly happy. and we only bought one food dish).  We came home to Emily and Michelle’s room and played cards and watched the clock. It was about 11:30 when we came home so we didn’t have to wait long.

Then we started our countdown and jumped on Emily’s bed in a fit of celebration!

Happy 2011!

Now: New Years Resolutions.

1. I resolve not to feel guilty for things.  Guilty for not doing enough working, guilty for not giving my students as much love as the other teachers seem to give, guilty for not practicing, guilty for my on and off lack of religion, guilty for not traveling around China all the time when I’m here.

I am my own self.  I will do what I think I should do and not feel guilty about it. This is my life now. And it has it’s wonderful moments no matter how much effort I put into it.  I’m going to stop comparing myself to other people.

This is the plan at least.

2 responses »

  1. Gramma says:

    Yes Abby, you are your own dear, wonderful self….doing things many young women woudn’t have the talent, ability or “guts” to attempt to do. Sometimes it is difficult to give yourself credit for what you do….I say, “divide a paper in half, and start on 1 side, to make a list of all the things that are good in your life…give yourself credit wherever you can…and then start on the other side of the paper with self criticism or failings, or whatever you think is negative…(Guilt?)…You will hardly find anything to put on that column, believe me. We are so proud of you and hope you have a wonderful year in 2011….with many more wonderful years to follow….Love you….Gram

Leave a Reply

