I am now a proud member of the Beijing International Chamber Orchestra!

Are you super excited? Because I definitely am!

I went to my first rehearsal last night, even though I had a cold and fever when I woke up that morning.  I just took some ibuprofen and felt lots better.  And I wasn’t going to miss my first rehearsal. It started at 7, but I didn’t really have the best idea of how to get there, so I left at 5 to leave time for wandering around and general lostness.

But, I found the place with only one 15ish minute lostness. I actually had the proper directions on my little map card that I drew, I just decided to go check out the big building on the other side of the road because it also ind of looked like a school. But when I couldn’t really find any entrances or gaps in the barbed wire fence I decided to go back to the original pursuit and there it was!

Rehearsals are at the British School of Beijing, which, from what I’ve seen so far, is a cute little school.  Maybe, after I finish with China and the Peace Corps and everything, I’ll look into teaching in International Schools in random capital cities.  That would be cool. I’m sure the teachers get paid a whole lot more than we do as well…

Anyways. I ended up getting there about a half hour early… so there was some waiting around time, but I got to talk to my new friend Sam, a flute player from England that I met at the Christmas party, and some random cello guy that  I’m sure he told me his name but I don’t really remember.

And…lemme see… I’m playing second at the moment, even though I think I might be marginally better than the first player… but since I only popped up recently I guess it doesn’t really mater. She plays on short scrape reeds?!? what?

eh whatever.

So, we’re playing Peer Gynt suite, Egmont, and a bunch of random concerto movements.  I’ve played the two main pieces before, so it’s not too hard.

I didn’t realize how much I missed, how direly I’ve been lacking a group musical outlet.  I felt so happy last night.  Even through all the sickness and the not getting back until 11 pm and taking an hour and a half to get there and it being so cold, yesterday was awesome.  And, now that I’ve accomplished all the hard parts of joining, finding the place, and general footwork, I can just go every week and get my orchestra fix.

And I’m really looking forward to the companionship of other musicians. We’re just a bit different than others people.  And apparently the difference translates across language and geographical boundaries because the conductor is a crazy Russian, and she’s just about the same kind of crazy as all the other conductors I have known.  Anyways…. the two flute players on my right are quite a bundle of laughs…I’m pretty sure the other oboe player doesn’t speak much English….

Well… there’s a ramble for you. I guess that’s all for now.

One response »

  1. So glad you found kindred souls! Take care of yourself and feel better soon.
    Also…glad the blog is up and running again!

Leave a Reply

