1. Apparently I have squirrel colored hair

2. Squirrels in Barranquilla are quite orangy. Almost as if you took a squirrel and dyed it with henna.

3. We’re going to the beach Saturday. It’ll be my first time out of the city. I’ve been here for a month.

4. One week ’til site announcements! Cross your fingers for… something  awesome.  I don’t think I even have any preferences anymore.

5. We had a going away party for our sweet Dr. La, our temporary medical officer, who is going back to Fiji. Complete with a stellar rendition of “All you need is La!” sung  by Adam. I made an illustrated novella for a going away note:   “Straight Talk with Dr. La”

6. Found another Mercer alumni in the Peace Corps. Here I thought I was the only one! Thanks, The Cluster!

7. I was talking to some people in China yesterday morning and now I kind of really miss Beijing. Especially that bao zi stand in the alley.

8. We’ve been watching a fair few futbal games since I guess world cup qualifying has recently started. Anyways there were some games played in Barrnquilla, which ended in a tie or a loss, but it’s still been fun.

9. I had to explain that there is actually a state of New York to my host dad yesterday (I know because I was born there).  I brought out a map and we had a good discussion. He has family in the States, and they are all doing interesting things. muy interessante

10. Life is good!

4 responses »

  1. Mom says:

    Did your host dad think there was only NYC? That’s what NYC thinks too!

  2. Nancy Quinn says:

    He’s not the only one. Are you a football fan yet?

  3. Sarah B says:

    Abbers! I just wanted to let you know that I was thinking of you and am reading your blog. I love the pink keyboard! HUGS!

Leave a Reply

