The Sancocho

Yesterday was a bit of a holiday here in Cartagena, and maybe the rest of the coast, or the rest of the country but I don’t actually know how far the reach extends. I’m not entirely sure about the details, but I know that it involves Sancocho, and it’s called Angeles Somos (We are angels). I think traditionally kids go from house to house begging ingredients for their Sancocho (which is a sort of a kitchen sink type soup), and then the go cook it. Something like that. Feel free to weigh in anyone who knows better what’s going on. That’s what the comments section is for.

How this went in my life is that I rolled in to school about 9 am, knowing that nothing interesting happens there from 6:30 – 9:00 on these kinds of days. I came at a good time, as Sancocho pots were bubbling away over open fires scorching every patch of bare ground at the school. There were probably five different Sancochos going and it was just about time to start the rice. I hung out with my eighth graders and my eleventh graders and chatted and knitted, but around 11:00 I was starting to get real hunger so I begged off of any Sancocho and went home and cooked delicious, delicious vegetarian food.

And today I didn’t go to school.

Today is supposed to be a sports day at school and I just don’t feel up to another few hours of hanging out at school and doing not so much.

Eighth graders “helping” to make the Sancocho. Sancocho is an all day affair; sometimes just hanging around is all you can do to help.

I’ve been assured by my co-teachers that there will be no more real classes this semester, so I guess I’m just going to pop in and plan with them. One of my co-teachers and I are making a curriculum/syllabus for 9th, 10th and 11th for next year. This is a big deal and I am going to make sure it happens.

Looking for non-rice things in the rice

So, I’m going to have to find some other things to occupy my time in November. Any suggestions about productive things for me to do now that I have this huge onslaught of free time?

2 responses »

  1. Sarah B says:

    I thought of you the other day for two reasons. One, there was an oboe piece on NPR. Two, I’ve been trying to learn to crochet and failing. That’s what you can do! Teach me how in the world I make this crochet thing happen.

    I miss you a ton!

Leave a Reply

