My mom has been badgering me for years to write a list of qualities that I am looking for in a boyfriend. (Hi mom!)

Though I’ve never sat down and made a physical list, I do have some qualities in mind that I measure people against.

And now, an anecdote.

I was hanging out with some of my orchestra friends last weekend. My friends have graciously agreed to hacerme el dos” to be my wingmen if only I would tell them who I think is cute. Never mind that every time they start this conversation, I assure them that I will never tell. Never!

This day’s conversation was more of an interview.

“So, what kind of a Colombian boyfriend are you looking for? Black? Brown? Or White?”

“Um, well, that doesn’t matter so much. I’m looking for someone nice, respectful. Someone who talks slowly.”

Everyone laughs and proceeds to spend the next few minutes speaking at half tempo.

I am funny sometimes, even in Spanish.

 

About boyfriends, though.

People just won’t stop asking me “Why don’t you have a boyfriend?”

It’s just really hard to explain to people that my life is already complicated, and having a boyfriend is complicated.

Language barriers, cultural barriers, everyone still lives with their mom barriers.

3 responses »

  1. And the list…..? I don’t see a list!

  2. nancy quinn says:

    Right. I don’t see a list either. You could make us work, and make the list all in Spanish.

Leave a Reply

