When I lived in China, I spent a lot of time knitting. Especially on long 20+ hour cross-country train trips. The sight of an obviously not Chinese person on a cross-country train ride is pretty much irresistible for the curious, and the sight of such a person knitting? Completely irresistible. Often people would ask me in Chinese, and I’d reply, but sometimes they’d pull out the English.

“Are you weaving a sweater?”

“No, I’m knitting socks.”

You see, the word for “knit” and the word for “weave” are the same in Chinese, zhī. Well, as we all know, there is a big difference between knitting and weaving, which I would explaing to my students, but I didn’t go so far as to correct random strangers on trains.

Two years later-ish, here I am in Colombia, knitting (or weaving) a sweater in the tropics. Here, I have another problem (besides sweating all over my knitting). Here, the word “tejer” can mean knitting or crocheting. Sighhhhh. As we all know, there is a big difference between knitting and crocheting.

I have pictures of my current project, but unfortunately, internet cafes aren’t always compatible with my camera, and you’ll just have to look again later when I have a chance to upload it. It’s gong to pretty awesome.

I’ll wear it when I travel to Bogota where it’s not quite so frying hot.IMG_5823

One response »

  1. thedad1959 says:

    Can’t wait to see you in Bogota wearing that very sweater…

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

