Hello Loyal Blog Followers!

I’ve been out of it for awhile, huh? Or as we say in Colombia yo he estado perdido (I’ve been lost). Actually I’m not entirely sure I can say that as mostly people say it to me, you know?

I’m going to try to keep up with the blog more now that I’m wrapping things up here (about 80 some days left, although I haven’t officially picked when I’m leaving yet).

But, the major event that just went down was our COS (close of service conference) which was pretty awesome. Peace Corps put us up in a nice sort of resort/retreat for a couple of nights and fed us like, four meals a day, and AS MUCH TEA AS YOU CAN DRINK! I had brought my own bags, since there is usually always coffee but not ever tea, but this time I was pleasantly surprised.

It was altogether probably the best PC conference that we’ve had. Besides the fact that a lot of the sessions were quite interesting, we also got to just spend some quality time with the whole group. Well, those of us that are left (16/23). Holla at our early escapee comrades! hugs!

It was really great to be able to see everyone, and everyone all at once. Some people I haven’t seen since the last time we had a conference with everybody, which was almost a year ago.

I think our group is an uncommonly close group. I mean, I’m not super close with everybody, but as a whole, we’re very close. When we first came here two years ago, we only really had each other. There were no volunteers about to COS, there were no volunteers at the year mark, there were no volunteers from other programs. There were only a few Peace Corps Response volunteers still in town and us. It’s been rough. But it’s definitley been worth it. And I think all the volunteers in Colombia from here on out will DEFINITELY benefit from our experience.

C-II-3, the beginning of the end.

Leave a Reply

