IMG_6498 Yesterday I had the opportunity to lead a training session for the new aspiring volunteers. I taught the same session on material design (making excellent stuff to use in class) last year and I guess I did a reasonably good job because they invited me back.

So, two years in a row, I got to go back to the Colombo-Americano where we had our training too and reflect on just how far I’ve come in a year. Both this year and last year, it was cool to

meet some new people (well, cooler last year because I’m not going to have so much interaction with this year’s group).

This year, however, I had the very strange experience of meeting my replacement. I haven’t quite worked out how I feel about this.

IMG_6508

On the one hand, I think she’ll do great at my school. On the other hand, I’m a little afraid she’ll be a better volunteer than I was.

On the one hand, I’m jealous of the perspective of looking forward to the next two years and all the opportunities it will involve as opposed to the perspective where all I can see are chapters closing, things ending, all the possibilities now successes and failures, already written. All that’s left is my epilogue here.

On the other hand, I’m getting ready to COS! I’m done. I’m ready to move on, leave Colombia, see my family, and start looking forward to my next adventure.

It’s a bittersweet time and full of emotion, and really important. I want the transition to go smoothly and to go out on the best foot possible with all my friends here, but the end of the year laziness is definitely setting in.

IMG_6502

Conflicting emotions.

But. Ultimately, it’s good, even desirable that my successor(s) should be more effective than I was. That’s kind of the point, after all. It’s just hard to see people who have been here way less time than we have appearing so capable and put together and on top of things than I’ve been able to manage in two whole years. But, I do maintain that our group, we guinea pigs, had a lot on our plates just getting by.

2 responses »

  1. You and the team before you were trail blazers! Think about how much harder it is to break the trail when you are cross country skiing but it has to be done to to make the trail easier for those coming behind you! Trailblazers are a special set of people who you can be proud to be apart of. ….How many days left?! PS Let’s hit the Happy Jack ski trails while you are home!

Leave a Reply

