Drawing is magical.

I got back to the art center early one day after lunch. This was before I had a key to the building. But, the area is somewhat enclosed from the road, so I sat on the steps and began to draw. I drew just exactly what I could see from the steps, some columns and another building. Not terribly exciting, but there’s something interesting in just about any building, in my opinion.

As I drew, first one kid came over.

“What are you doing?”

“I’m drawing. Look, this building here in my sketchbook is that building over there.”

“Oh…”

And I attracted my first acolyte. Soon, more kids came over to see what the fuss was about.

“She’s drawing! Look, those little funny shingles here in the book are the same as those ones on the roof!”

“Oh…”

Pretty soon, the stairs were completely full of children just watching me draw. Sometimes someone would come over and watch us from the bottom of the stairs.

“Hey! Get out of the way! She’s drawing that building!”

This is that drawing.IMG_6953

So, I came back the next day to draw, and my little crowd was already ready for me.

Maybe an extracurricular class on drawing realistically is in order?

Eyi zaande!

3 responses »

  1. thedad1959 says:

    Nice drawing Abby! I know your drawing skills are going to skyrocket over the next 9 months with all the practice you will get and reading Drawing on the Right Side of the brain. It is a very interesting book that demystifies the process of drawing. I can see why its analytical bent would appeal to you. Love Mom

    • abbyinthebox says:

      Yeah it is very interesting although sometimes I get to one of the exercises and decide to not do it. haha. I made a little viewfinder out of a cracker box and taped some extra cellophane wrapping, but I didn’t have anyway to make it stand up and my lighting is bad. So I rested it on my knees with my legs kind of open, and then brought my hand up under my left leg and tried to draw my hand with one eye closed and it just didn’t go well.

  2. cathy says:

    Hey I know that building!!

Leave a Reply

