Well, I made it to site. I actually got here about a week ago, but I’ve been working out the kinks in my life, one of which being the internet.

There is actually internet at my place of work, but I haven’t really wanted to drag my laptop all the way there. I live a little far away. Probably a 20 minute bike ride or an hour’s walk.

Things are going well here at my own little house. I don’t have any furniture yet, but I hear that I might get some stuff today. Most important is a table that I can put my little camping stove on. Then I can boil water and cook food. That’ll be nice.

Things are also going well at work. I will be working at an art center. I will primarily be teaching art to elementary aged kids, but there will also be opportunities to teach music and to generally make art. They’re at the end of a unit right now, but the week after next, I will start getting more involved.

I’ve also been drawing a lot. More on that later.

I’ve been reading Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain. It’s pretty interesting and perhaps I’ll have a chance to work some of the ideas into art classes.

I also spent about 4 or 5 days in Cotonou, which is kind of like the capital, except it isn’t the capital. Peace Corps main office in country is there. I spent some time getting trained. It wasn’t all that exciting.

That’s about all for now. I hope everyone is well out there in internet land.

Eyi zaande! (That means see you later in Fon)

Le Swearing-in

Le Swearing-in

Leave a Reply

