Perks to having my own house including being able to cook whatever I want, whenever I want. So wonderful. Mostly I just cook Shakshuka, which is the best food known to PCVkind. My very excellent kitten-friend PCV Jessica introduced me and I’ve been basically eating this nonstop across three continents ever since.

Recipe:

1) Cut up an onion and saute it to within an inch of it’s life. Extra points if it get carmelized, points taken away for burning it (my stove has trouble with the concept of “simmer”)

  1. Cut up some tomatoes, maybe 3 medium sized and toss them in too. (might have to add some water)
  2. When things start to get nice and saucy in your pot, crack an egg in. (extra points for not breaking the yolk) (crack in a bowl to make sure it’s a good egg first)
  3. Season
  4. eat

Also you can add really any sort of veggies to it. (garlic, peppers, mysterious greens, potatoes)

The mysterious greens in question. These cost about.... 10 cents. maybe.

The mysterious greens in question. These cost about…. 10 cents. maybe.

I also like to eat oatmeal for breakfast, and I have also been cooking a lot of black eyed peas (sometimes with tomatoes and mysterious greens).

I went through an “everything in mayonnaise” phase for a little while, mostly because I was craving egg salad one day and bought some mayonnaise, which you CAN store out of a fridge for a few days, but you should probably hustle on eating it up. So I had a lot of egg salad, potato salad and macaroni salad for awhile there but I’m going to wait a bit before doing that again.

Ciao!

One response »

  1. Green are good for you Popeye says!

Leave a Reply

